Don’t forget Thanksgiving! or What happened to Thanksgiving?


vintage_thanksgiving_dinner_greeting_card-p137981478310864695q53o_400

Halloween came and went here on Main Street with no ghostly tricks. There was one exception, the two poor kid’s that our local police department pulled over about 10:30 p.m. in front of our home. They probably wish they had been home handing out treats but both driver and passenger were face down on the cold pavement surrounded by police car’s.

The weather has been simply beautiful for the last few days. Everyone has ventured outside and the smell of summer draws to a close when the aroma of burning leafs infiltrates the air and conceals Main Street with a thick fog of smoke.

It seems as if it’s a race to complete all the tasks before the first snow fall. Since the time change, there has been an increase of activity as darkness now falls early. Like bears, we tend to hibernate during the winter months. However, the autumn rains hampered yard work and the farmers still have fields of corn and beans in the ground. Yes kids, Christmas is only fifty one days away, and we still have crops in the fields.

But, let’s not forget that this month we celebrate Thanksgiving. Retailer’s go from Halloween to Christmas over night neglecting this day. Thanksgiving is a time to reflect and give thanks for all the blessing we have been giving. It’s a time to spend with family and friends while enjoying a meal together. Enjoy and be thankful for all the blessing this month; Christmas will soon be here!

8 thoughts on “Don’t forget Thanksgiving! or What happened to Thanksgiving?

  1. Turkey, yum. It is good the first time and all the other times, pot pie, turkey salad and I make a thing with turkey, rigatoni, Ragu Roasted Garlic Parmesan and Ro*Tel. It is little Jeannes favorite thing.
    I love Thanksgiving, we here are moving into the nesting mode before winter really hits. Evenings in, watching favorite shows, popcorn, comfy on the couch, even the dog!
    And yes! It seems to move from Halloween to Christmas. Retailers in the money making mind. But I do start shopping early. Don’t want to be near the big city between Thanksgiving and Christmas.
    Very Good Post Mari.

    1. Anything you cook is GOOD!
      Yes, I do not like to be near the city during this time of year as well.
      Love the nesting mode…..best time of the year!
      Thank you 🙂

  2. OMG! Turkey is the BEST! Then the greenbean casserole! We officially kick off Thanksgiving on Nov 14th. Thats our first dinner with my mother in law. Then we still have my father in law, my mom and dad, and sometimes a grandparents house or two! Phew! 😛 I’m worn out already just thinking about it!

    1. You go sweetheart! Spending time with family and friends is the reason for this month, and you enjoy it! I will save my slice of turkey for you. Love you!

  3. I’m one of the ones who have difficulty with Thanksgiving. No family and it seems pointless to go through all the rigamarole of huge turkeys for just me and Devoted Spouse. Plus I know this if probably a hanging offense, but I don’t even LIKE turkey – cold, yes – but hot turkey turns my stomach. Oh no – I’m a Thanksgiving grinch! LOL Yes indeed I am thankful – but this year we’ll probably watch the parade and some football and I may cook a turkey breast for him coz he does enjoy turkey. Sigh — 51 more days to Christmas — I just want it to be Spring, I’m afraid. Although I do like decorating for Christmas – this one is going to be a little on the lean side because of the economy and all the expenses we have incurred this year. But ya know the only present I really want anyway is just to spend more time with Devoted Spouse. awwww… 🙂

    1. The best part of Thanksgiving is not the turkey…. it’s all the other stuff!
      I’m like you, I make a sandwich out my turkey and there has been a few times I’ve just skiped it.

Leave a Reply

